Sheila Firestone
Sheila, composer, ASCAP member, M.S. Ed., has been a student of musical composition since 1987. Sheila was a teacher of the Gifted in Dade County, Fla. from 1974-98. She privately founded Songs for a New Day in 1990, publishing an interdisciplinary/whole-language/songs and teaching materials program.

Sheila served as Chairperson for the Dade County Youth Fair Creative Writing Department for five years. In 1989, she was named the ESE teacher of the year of Miami Dade County’s Council for Exceptional Children, later serving as Chairperson of the Dade County Very Special Arts Festival 1990-1994, and was named Educator of Note by the Young Patronesses of the Opera in Miami.

Artistically, Sheila’s compositional work has won many awards with her Trio and Dance performed at the National Conference in Washington DC, and her choral work, Abraham Lincoln, published in the NLAPW Happy Birthday, Mr. Lincoln Commemorative Collage in 2009. As a Delian Society member, her orchestral works have been heard in concert in France, England, Seattle WA, and Japan.

While serving as Patroness Chapter President of the University of Miami Sigma Alpha Iota, National Music Fraternity (1996-2005), the chapter dedicated several annual concerts to her works; she now serves as patroness to the Ft. Lauderdale Chapter. In 2016 Sheila won the 2nd place Vinnie Ream Award in the NLAPW competition for Waters of  Transformation.

Sheila is the Music Chair and currently serves as President of the Boca Raton Branch for the 2014-2018 terms.  She served a two-year term as First Vice-President of  the Florida State Association from 2010 – 2012.


Marlene Klotz
Marlene Klotz’s writing career began in 1976 with the publication her first poem in The American Journal of Nursing. Her next poem, A Mountain of Shoes, was accepted by the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum in Washington, D.C. to be included in their permanent archives. Marlene has since kept busy as a poet,
playwright, freelance writer, and the author of six books. Her two books of illustrated nursery rhymes, Alphabet Zoo and Animal Quackers provide early readers with a fun-filled learning experience.
Dayle Herstik
2nd Vice President
Dayle has been writing since her teens. Her collection of poems, When We Were Perfect, reflects her thoughts and feelings which evolved over the years. Her collection of flash fiction, Life Happens, is based on her true life experiences. She is presently working on her next publication based on her philosophy of life as it relates to nature. It can be said that she was influenced by her mother, Ruth Grande Halle, who was a member of the Boca Raton Branch of Pen Women.


Etta Schaeffer
3rd Vice President
Etta is a graduate of C. W. Post College in Long Island, NY and holds  BA and Masters Degrees. After teaching in the Criminal Justice Department at C. W. Post College, Etta was Director of the Community School Program for the Town of Huntington, N. Y. Youth Bureau for ten years. She  started writing poetry in 2003, after taking a class with Billy Collins, former Poet Laureate of the United States. Etta has had numerous essays and articles published and is the recipient of poetry prizes. She is a proud member of the Boca Raton Branch NLAPW.


Barbara Bixon
Barbara, writing under the name of A. R. Alan, has 13 published novels. She has written 2 screenplays. Many of her short stories and poems have received first place prizes. She has also sold comedic material to Joan Rivers and has been published in Playgirl Magazine. Barbara says: “Writing is my passion.”

Barbara has been a Letters Pen Woman for several years and brings her corporate experience and extensive financial knowledge to our branch.


Prue Carrico

Prue earned a Bachelor of Science in Education degree as an art specialist at Capital University in Columbus, Ohio. She has combined her instructional skills and artistic talents into a career rich in flavor and diversity. Having lived and traveled extensively abroad, Prue is able to tap an abundant variety of cultures and environments for subject matter, based on personal observation. Her specialty is exquisite inkwork, which makes her art quite distinctive. She also uses other media to depict the beauty of nature and to capture scenes that can evoke special memories for the viewer.

Prue has taught adult drawing and painting classes at venues in several states, including the Hawai’i State Art Museum in Honolulu, and the Huntsville Museum of Art in Alabama. The focus of her Florida studio covers coastal scenes, tropical flora, Art Deco structures, plus custom home portraits. She has been an Art member of Pen Women branches in Arizona, Hawai’i, Alabama, and Florida. Offices she has held are Membership Chair, Honolulu; Vice-President and President, Huntsville, and National Recording Secretary and Second Vice-President, Florida State Association.


Alexandra Goodwin
Alexandra Goodwin was born in Buenos Aires, Argentina and moved to the United States following the military coup of the 1970s in her country. Her first novel, Exchange at the Border, was published in August 2015 and is a finalist at the Colorado Independent Publishers Association EVVY Awards. She’s also the author of Whispers of the Soul, an illustrated book of poems. Her poem “For Eyal, Naphtali, and Gil-Ad” was a finalist at the Anna Rosenberg Annual Poetry Contest. Alexandra writes in both English and Spanish, and is currently at work on a short story collectionin Spanish, and two poetry books in English and Spanish. Although she’s a business owner, she’sable to write between 5:00 and 7:00 in the morning, before going to work. She derives pleasure from her garden, which she and her husband have converted into a bird sanctuary. You can learn more about her at


Chaplain:  Dr, Barbara Lunde
Art Chair:  Prue Carrico
Letters Co-Chairs:  Alexandra Goodwin and Carol White
Music Chair:  Sheila Firestone
Member Newsletter:  Carol White
Poetry Chair:  Vera Hershhorn
Publicity Chair:  Carol White
Webmaster:   Elaine Bossik
Yearbook Editors:  Louise Mirkin and Sandy Wesley
1975-1976     Bea Erwe*
1976-1978     Gay Diss*
1978-1980    Athea Duron*
1980-1982    Julie Malear
1982-1984    Mildred Reid*
1984-1986    Katherine Sisson*
1986-1988    Edith Mize Louis*
1988-1990    Joyce Stedelbauer
1990-1992    Rozanna LeWinter*
1992-1994    Betty Feder*
1994-1996    Jean E. Holmes
1996-1998    Jean E. Holmes
1998-2000   Bea Doone Merena
2000-2002   Dori Popenoe*
2002-2004   Phoebe Marner
2004-2006   Pat Wilson
2006-2008   Pat Wilson
2008-2010   Myra F. Levick, PhD and Diane-Brenda Bryan (co-presidents)
2010-2012    Diane-Brenda Bryan
2012-2014    Mary F. Twitty
2014-Oct. 2014  Cora Lee Palma-Hayden
2014 -2017   Sheila Firestone